CEDIT, the hospital-based HTA agency of AP-HP

History and Structure

The Committee for Evaluation and Dissemination of Innovative Technologies (CEDIT) was established in 1982 by the Paris University Hospital (AP-HP), as an advising structure in matters related to innovation and health technologies. This structure adopted the then new methods of HTA and thus became one of the first HTA agencies.

The CEDIT is a multi-disciplinary committee comprising physicians from different specialties, pharmacists, hospital managers and the headquarters division directors. The president of CEDIT and its members are appointed by the Director General of AP-HP.

The committee is supported by a permanent scientific secretariat or HTA Unit (comprising physicians, biomedical engineers and methodologists) and an innovation network within AP-HP. The scientific secretariat, part of the Department of Medical Affairs and Relations with Universities, carries out prospective analysis following the aspects relevant for AP-HP (technical, clinical, economical, organisational, ethical, legal, etc.) and proposes strategies aiming at adapting healthcare delivery at the particular context of the AP-HP.


The CEDIT, as a hospital-based health technology assessment agency, formulates recommendations for the senior management of AP-HP. Its main missions are:

  • Health Technology Assessment: the CEDIT undertakes analysis, aggregation and synthesis of all data available (literature, AP-HP specific data and expert opinions), in order to support the decision making process regarding the acquisition, use and dissemination of innovative technologies in AP-HP hospitals. (see Recent recommandations)
  • Horizon scanning: early awareness and assessment, by identifying and anticipating the technologies with an impact (clinical, economical, organisational) on the hospital.

How CEDIT Works

The CEDIT acts upon request from administrative, medical or paramedical staff of the AP-HP, or sometimes on self-request (mostly innovations identified by horizon scanning).

Its scientific secretariat prepares an assessment report, with the support of members of the committee, ad hoc expert groups, scientific societies and the AP-HP innovation network, other departments of AP-HP (research, finance, medical information system, etc.).

The plenary committee appraises then for each technology its value for AP-HP regarding the main aspects already mentioned. The committee can recommend or not the general use of a new technology, recommend it but under certain conditions (only into research or assessment programs or follow-up studies), recommend restricted conditions of use (characteristics of patients, characteristics of illness, characteristics of physicians or local medical organization).

Dissemination Activities

The recommendations and opinions of the CEDIT are systematically addressed to the Director-General of AP-HP, to the president of the medical commission, to directors of AP-HP hospitals, to the physicians and other health care professionals concerned.

The HTA reports (in French, the new reports include an executive summary in English) are made public on the CEDIT web-site. Chosen assessment reports are submitted for publication to French and international journals. Further, the CEDIT electronic newsletter disseminates early awareness reports and highlights recent assessment reports.

The scientific secretariat of CEDIT


Secrétariat scientifique

The scientific secretariat is an multidisciplinary team : Marc Vanicatte (biomedical engineer), Bjorn Fahlgren (biomedical engineer), Alexandre Barna (physician, head of unit), Viviane Kluvie (part-time assistant) and Emmanuel Charpentier (DDS, Methodologist and biostatistician)

The scientific secretariat, which is part of the Department of Medical Affairs and Relations with Universities (DOMU), works with a network of experts including members of the CEDIT and “innovation correspondents” appointed by the different medical disciplines. Further, it interacts with structures in charge with clinical research, health economics, submissions to calls for proposals, finance department, and other structures as necessary.

Externally, the scientific secretariat exchanges and cooperates with other University Hospitals and with other national institutions such as the National Medicines Agency (ANSM), the French National Authority for Health (HAS), the public health insurance organization (UNCAM) and the ministry of health. It also takes part in European and international exchanges relating to innovation and evaluation of health technologies, as member of EuroScan, HTAi and INAHTA.

Composition of the Scientific secretariat


Members of CEDIT

The current members of the CEDIT were nominated for a period of three years by a directive in 2014.

Members of CEDIT




  Chirurgie Orthopédique Henri Mondor
AZERAD Jean Odontologie Pitié Salpétrière
BERNAUDIN Jean-François Histologie-Biologie Tumorale Tenon
BOFFA Jean-Jacques Néphrologie Tenon
CASASSUS Philippe Hématologie (Pdt de CPP) Avicenne
CHARNAUX Nathalie Biochimie Jean Verdier
CORREAS Jean-Michel Imagerie médicale Necker
CRENN Pascal Hépato-Gastro-Entérologie Raymond Poincaré
DAVI Frédéric Hématologie biologique Pitié Salpétrière
EVRARD Philippe Pédiatrie Robert Debré
FABIANI Jean-Noël Chirurgie Cardio-vasculaire HEGP
FALISSARD Bruno Département Santé Publique Paul Brousse
FRACHET Bruno Oto-rhino-laryngologie Rothschild
FRANCO Dominique Chirurgie digestive Antoine Béclère
GUILLEVIN Loïc Médecine Interne (President of CEDIT) Cochin
HENNEQUIN Christophe Radiothérapie Saint Louis
JULIARD Jean-Michel Cardiologie Bichat
LE GULUDEC Dominique Médecine Nucléaire Bichat
LECHAT Philippe Pharmacologie / Cardiologie Saint Louis
LONGROIS Dan Anesthésie-Réanimation Bichat
MAITRE Bernard Pneumologie Henri Mondor
MALLET Luc Neurologie fonctionnelle Henri Mondor
MAZIGHI Mickael Neurologie Bichat
MENINGAUD Jean-Paul Stomatologie Pitié Salpétrière
MICHEL Marc Médecine Interne Henri Mondor
MOZER Pierre Urologie Pitié Salpétrière
PAYEN Didier Anesthésie Réanimation Lariboisière
PINEAU Judith Pharmacien HEGP
PLANTIER Laurent Exploration fonctionnelle Bichat
RUSZNIEWSKI Philippe Hépato-Gastro-Entérologie Beaujon
SAMSON Yves Urgences cérébro-vasculaires Pitié Salpetrière
TADAYONI Ramin Ophtalmologie Lariboisière

Membres de droit

CAPRON Loïc (ou son représentant) Président de la CME AP-HP
CHEVRIER Carine (ou son représentant) Directrice Direction Economique, Financière, de l’Investissement et du Patrimoine/Siège
COHEN Michaël (ou son représentant) Directeur AGEPS
WELTY Christine (ou son représentant) Directeur Direction de l’Organisation Médicale et des Relations avec les Universités (DOMU)
NICOLAS Christian Directeur Lariboisière
POIMBOEUF Christian (ou son représentant) Directeur Direction des Ressources Humaines/Siège
VALLON Catherine Cadre de Soins – Réanimation Médico-chirurgicale Avicenne
ZANTMAN Françoise (ou son représentant) Directrice des soins et des activités paramédicales Direction des Soins et des Activités Paramédicales/Siège

Invités permanents

LE STUM Didier Chef du Service de la Stratégie des Investissements Mobiliers et de l’Ingénierie Biomédicale DOMU/Siège
TARIGHT Namik Chef du Service d’Information Médicale Analyse et Prospective DOMU/Siège